Them’s the Vagaries



So, a new section. Thoughts, reviews, rants and raves. Why? Because it’s incredibly important for you that I share my opinions on such matters. Really? No, not really, David. Still, to misquote Pink Floyd – as I’m too lazy to look up the lyric – it helps to tick away a few moments from a dull day…..

The inspiration for this new section? I’d like to say it was something that deserved it but it was actually….

We lasted 2 minutes of Baby Driver (who is responsible for that name?). It was the most self-satisfied opening sequence I have seen in a long time. Italian Job to infinity and beyond. I got so angry. I wanted to give up after 30 seconds but TheWife made me prevail. Thankfully I did, as I managed to win the next round of our ‘Spot John Hamm’ competition. Style over content can be good (I’m a big fan of Dario Argento’s classics after all) but when it’s so in your face and so hackneyed. All the good faith in Edgar Wright has been lost. I just want to quote THAT Jeff Goldblum Jurassic classic line at him….

You tell ’em Jeff

On a slightly positive note, enjoyed listening to the first 2 Morrissey albums – Viva Hate and Bona Drag –  while undertaking a long walk. It’s hard to separate the man from the music these days now that he has become everyone’s favourite racist uncle – and no longer the cute consumer monkey (what would Reeves and Mortimer do now). Still those albums were good. Ok, so the production is a bit 80s with those gated snares but his work with Stephen Street was pretty decent. Great photos on the 12 inches too. He also managed to get one of my favourite words into a song title – maudlin. A word used far more up north than down south. That run of singles was magnificent, especially the 12 inch of Everyday is Like Sunday. Every track on that one is a classic. I must admit, I was not a fan of The Smiths as I was growing up, I was far too metal and punk for that kind of thing, don’t you know. It was this 12” – owned by TheWife – that started to turn it all around. Thanks Moz for accompanying me on my walk, now return yourself to your American home, you naughty migrant you (or should I say ex-pat).

You cheeky monkey!

And finally, I received the best compliment of my entire life the other week. I didn’t even get to hear it! I was on stage with Moto, pulling off some sort of guitar wacky hi-jinks while TheWife was watching from a carefully placed sofa at the side of the stage. The aforementioned better half was approached by a slightly strange British woman, who asked, “Do you know any of these?”, whilst pointing at the band. Vic replied with a pointed index finger and the words, “I’m married to him”. The woman then gave TheWife a high five. What a catch I truly am. Said woman (or is it sad) then said she loved how TheWife watched me in awe. Oh yes!!!

High five!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started